Founded at the Abramson Cancer Center at the University of Pennsylvania
Erin Gillespie

Erin Gillespie, MD, MPH

Associate Professor, University of Washington/Fred Hutch Cancer Center

Erin Gillespie, MD, MPH, is a Visiting Scholar at the Penn Center for Cancer Care Innovation. Dr. Gillespie is a radiation oncologist who specializes in the treatment of patients with breast cancer and metastatic disease. She is also a health services researcher with a focus on defining gaps between evidence and practice, understanding how to evaluate and measure quality, and developing strategies to improve cancer care. Her methodologic approach is grounded in implementation science, having completed the NCI’s Training in Dissemination and Implementation Research in Cancer (TIDIRC) and an MPH from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.


Dr. Gillespie is an Associate Professor at the University of Washington/Fred Hutch Cancer Center. Prior to this, she was an Assistant Attending at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK) and Director of Radiation Oncology for the MSK Cancer Alliance, in which she oversees clinical trial enrollment and leads an NCCN-funded initiative leveraging this community-academic partnership to improve access to specialized care closer to home for patients with metastatic disease. Her prior and ongoing research includes using large databases to understand patterns of care in the United States, and evaluating implementation strategies to reduce low value care and improve quality. In 2015, she founded a clinical decision support tool ( that is in use by radiation oncology professionals in all 50 states and over 80 countries, and has been funded by multiple agencies including the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.


Dr. Gillespie attended the University of Michigan Medical School, where she completed a research fellowship through the Howard Hughes Medical Institute focused on bringing research findings from the lab bench to the bedside. She completed internship in Preliminary Medicine at the University of Washington and residency in Radiation Oncology at the University of California San Diego. Her research awards include the Roentgen Resident Research Award (2017), ASCO Young Investigator Award (2017), RSNA Education Scholar and Innovation Grants (2017, 2019), and an NIH K08 Career Development Award (2020).

Related Publications